Balsamic Red Pepper Chicken

I had a request for baked chicken. 

That’s fine.  Everyone loves chicken.  I like it too.  When it’s cooked. 

The thought of raw chicken gives me the heebie-jeebies!!!  I feel like I need to have a continuous stream of anti-bacterial soap flowing over me while I prepare it.  I am in my late-twenties (YIKES!) and I can honestly say I had never made anything with raw chicken until last summer.  Really. 

I made mashed potatoes for the first time when I was 27.  I know.  YIKES again. 

Anyway, I feel like I am growing up now.  Breaking out of my shell.  I made the chicken.  It was delicious.

Goodbye Raw Chicken, Helllllooo Baked Beauties!!!

What could make baked chicken better?  Veggies, of course!!!   The colors are amazing!

This chicken was some of the juciest chicken that I have ever eaten.  That says a lot…because I think every piece of meat is dry.  Gravy is my best friend.  This chicken?  Goodbye, gravy…your service is not needed.

Balsamic Red Pepper Chicken

3/4 teaspoon salt, divided

3/4 teaspoon fennel seeds, crushed

1/2 teaspoon black pepper, divided

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon dried oregano

4 (6 oz.) boneless, skinless chicken breasts

2 tablespoons olive oil, divided

2 cups thinly sliced red bell pepper

1 cup thinly sliced yellow bell pepper

1 cup thinly sliced zucchini (about 1 medium)

1/2 cup  thinly sliced green onions

1 1/2 teaspoons fresh rosemary, chopped

1 cup fat-free, reduced-sodium chicken broth

1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar

Preheat oven to 450°. 

Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Combine 1/2 teaspoon salt, fennel seeds, 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, garlic powder, and oregano. Brush chicken with 1 1/2 teaspoons oil; sprinkle spice rub over chicken. Add 1 1/2 teaspoons oil to pan. Add chicken; cook 3 minutes or until browned. Turn chicken over; cook 1 minute. Arrange chicken in an 11 x 7–inch baking dish coated with cooking spray. Bake at 450° for 10 minutes or until done.

Heat remaining olive oil over medium-high heat. Add bell peppers, zucchini, green onions, and rosemary; sauté 3 minutes. Stir in broth, scraping pan to loosen browned bits. Reduce heat; simmer 5 minutes. Increase heat to medium-high. Stir in vinegar, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper; cook 3 minutes, stirring frequently. Serve bell pepper mixture over chicken.

There!  I did it!  I feel like an adult!  Maybe I’ll even try those mashed potatoes again…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Balsamic Red Pepper Chicken

  1. Red says:

    OH MY WORD, that chicken looks delicious thanks so much for the recipe, I can’t wait to make it thanks so much Kelly!

Leave a Reply

